Essential Digital Skills

The new digital entitlement from 2020 will support learners with no or low digital skills. New national standards have been developed for essential digital skills and will replace legacy ICT standards. These standards will also inform the development of new subject content for digital Functional Skills qualifications, available for first teaching from 2021.

New topics within the Essential Digital Skills standards include:

  • Using devices
  • Finding and evaluating information
  • Managing and storing information
  • Identifying and solving technical problems
  • Developing digital skills

The new essential digital skills offer for adults will be available at entry level and level 1. This will enable learners to develop the digital skills they need for a range of purposes.

Providers will be required to carry out a thorough initial assessment to determine the individual’s current level.

Skills Forward have developed a new Essential Digital Skills assessment based on the new national standards. We have worked alongside the digital subject matter experts who have developed the national standards for the Department for Education to make sure we provide the most accurate assessment and learning content that will help support learners on the most appropriate digital programme.

The new assessment and subject content closely reflects the new national standards and covers a wider range of skills in comparison to legacy ICT qualifications, reflecting the significant advances in digital technology and its application.

Find out more about our new essential digital skills assessment by contacting

Web Survey


We’d love to hear what you thought about your visit to our website.  

Please click ‘Next’ take you to a survey that will just take a couple of minutes to complete and your comments will help us to improve the service we provide.  

Also make sure you click on ‘Submit’ at the end so that your responses are included.